Using a template in Paint Shop Pro

I decided to write up this tutorial after seeing this question asked for the 1000th time and no really easy tutorials on it.

Step 1

Open your template.  For the sake of this tutorial I will assume it is a layered PSD file, but will discuss how to do it without a layered psd file at the end of the tutorial.

Once your template is open you will see all the various layers in your layer palette.  We are going to start with one of the elements in our template.  In my template I have a star your template may have whatever, but anyhow this is how you do it.

Make sure you selected the star layer in your layer palette and then go to the magic wand tool to select the star.

Then click on the star layer with your magic wand tool to select it.

Leave your star still selected in your template file and then open up the paper you want to use and then choose Edit > Copy to copy it and then go back to your template and choose Edit > Paste as new layer.

You should automatically be on the new layer with your paper and star still selected, but if your not just make sure you select the paper layer in the layer palette.  Then all you have to do is go to the top and choose Selections > Inverse and then hit the delete key and voila you have a star with your patterned paper!

You can then just delete the original star from the template since your done with it.  Deselect your star and repeat this process with each layer in your template.

NOTE:  As I stated above I said I’d mention what you had to do if you didn’t have a layered PSD file for your template.  If your template comes in seperate png files you will have to create a new file and Edit > Copy, then Edit > Paste to copy each layer into the new file.  You will then have to move the pieces around to get them in the right place and then follow all the rest of the steps for this tutorial.

16 responses to “Using a template in Paint Shop Pro

  1. Thank you SOOOOOO much for posting this.
    I’ve avoided downloading any templates, because I have NO CLUE how to use them in PSP!
    I am now going to go download one and give it a shot, using your directions!
    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

  2. ok, so WOW.
    TOTALLY works!!
    I’m very impressed at how EASY this was, and I wish I’d known this LONG ago, as I’ve passed by some really cool templates!!!
    Thank you again!!!!

  3. Barb (aka ladybug987)

    Thank you so, so much! I don’t want to give up Paint Shop Pro, but I have found so many templates I didn’t know how to use. People have recommended templates as a good way to start digiscrapping, but it has not been so for me. Now I feel like I can take advantage of them.

  4. Can you also do one for PhotoShop Elements 5?
    I would really appreciate it.
    Thanks

  5. Thank you for the tutorial! I too had been avoiding templates because I had trouble wih them! I do have one question though – if you want a picture to fit inside a certain shape in the template do you just do the same steps?

  6. Thank you SO much! I have quite a few templates that I have avoided using in PSP because I hadn’t worked out how to but now I can. Again THANK YOU!

  7. Hi! Wanted to thank you for all of your fabulous work! I just came across your site and downloaded quite a bit and your kits are great! I only have one little teensy question – do you have a newsletter, like through Feedblitz or somewhere, that we could subscribe to? Oh, and I also wanted to thank you for the template tut, makes how I was doing it soooo much easier! *hugs* and thanks again!

  8. So, how do you deselect? When I click on the arrow and click on the object it gives me a promoted selection and that is a pain! Is there an easier way??

  9. i am new to digiscrap and had no idea how to do this…i wanted to know but never could figure it out!!! I have PSP and am sure it would be pretty much the same! Thanks again! This really helped me out!

  10. Thank You for posting this, I made mine and it came out perfect. Like many of the others who have posted here, I too was scared to even try it. But you made it very simple for me and now I know how to do it.
    Thanks a bunch.

  11. hey
    i haven’t psp… are there any other possibilities to use the kit? or can i download psp for free?
    please help me:)

  12. I just wanted to let you know, I used to do templates this way as well……….but there is a much quicker, easier way to do this same thing. 🙂 Put your pattern layer one layer above the template, then alt-click the line between the two layers…this will automatically “trim” the pattern ONLY to the area in the template. 🙂 Super quick, super easy, and (just as a warning)…..once you figure this out, you’ll never go back! I know I haven’t!!! Now I’m doing PS work in less than half the time it used to take me!

  13. Thanks for this! I found in PSP X2 (not sure about others) that you can paste it into selection. Ctrl + Shift + L.

  14. Thank you so much. I have always seen them and come across template challenges in groups and had no clue how to use them. Bless you!

    Hugs,
    Ms Wiggle

  15. Liliane Albert

    Thank you very, very much for posting this. Now I can use them, you made this easy.
    Hugs,
    Liliane

  16. Thanks so much. I’ve been using an old Micrografx program for digi scrapping, and I’ve recently downloaded PSP X2. I had no idea how to use a template with it. You’ve saved my day!

Leave a Reply

